Blue House Garden, The Bridge, Frome BA11 1AP
View on map
All ages
Uploaded by
Helen Ottaway

Artmusic: Lachrymae

An installation in sound and sculpture by composer Helen Ottaway, sound designer Alastair Goolden and artists Rowena Pearce and Tim Millar. Violin: Anne Wood; voices Melanie Pappenheim and Caroline Radcliffe.

Lachrymae is inspired by the story of Phaeton as told by Ted Hughes in his translation of Ovid’s Metamorphoses. Phaeton’s sisters mourn their brother’s death weeping so copiously that the Gods turn them to trees and their tears turn to amber in the sun.

Originally a gallery piece, the installation has been installed in a variety of outdoor locations since 2014 (Wandsworth Park, a remote woodland in Dorset for Inside Out Dorset and the Dutch Island of Terschelling for Oerol Festival. This new version is the first created for a garden setting.

Jackdaws Songbirds will animate the installation with performances on Sunday 21st July at 2pm and 4pm.

Part of LISTEN, a summer of sound art hosted by Black Swan Arts nd curated by composer Helen Ottaway. Funded by Arts Council England.

0 interested I'm interested share