Share
Dates
Venue
Online
View on map
Admission
€9.90-€149.00
All ages
Time
Website
www.digitalconcerthall.com/e...
Uploaded by
jensenartists

Berlin Philharmonic premieres Anna Thorvaldsdottir’s CATAMORPHOSIS

On Friday, January 29, 2021, at 11am PT / 2pm ET / 8pm CET, the Berlin Philharmonic will perform the world premiere of Anna Thorvaldsdottir’s highly anticipated new orchestral work, CATAMORPHOSIS, conducted by Kirill Petrenko. A further testament to Thorvaldsdottir’s “confident and distinctive handling of the orchestra” (Gramophone) and the often “cosmic scale” (The New York Times) of her music, CATAMORPHOSIS is an imposing meditation on the fragile relationship we have to our planet. The title, in the composer’s own words, “refers both to the fact that if things do not change it is going to be too late, risking utter destruction – catastrophe – and to the way the core of the work is driven by the shift and pull between various polar forces – power and fragility, hope and despair, preservation and destruction.”

Full Program
Anna Thorvaldsdóttir: CATAMORPHOSIS (world première) – commissioned jointly by the Berliner Philharmoniker together with the Iceland Symphony Orchestra, the New York Philharmonic and the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra – supported by the Friends of the Berliner Philharmoniker e. V.

Sergei Prokofiev: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in D-flat Major, Op. 40 (featuring Daniil Trifonov, piano)

Josef Suk: Pohádka léta (A Summer’s Tale), Symphonic Poem, Op. 29

For more information about the performance, visit https://www.digitalconcerthall.com/en/concert/53139

For more information about Anna Thorvaldsdottir, vist https://www.annathorvalds.com/

0 interested I'm interested share