+ Add to calendar
St Gabriel's, Pimlico
View on map
Tickets £12 / £5 for under 30s. Or pay what you can on the door
All ages
Uploaded by
Jess Hoskins

Deep Listening: Goldfinch Chamber Orchestra X Rothko Collective

Pauline Oliveros – Excerpts from ‘Sonic Meditations’

Pia Rose Scattergood – inside out

Naomi Pinnock – Between

Joanna Ward – from the trees and from my friends (bean piece 3)

Andy Akiho – Karakurenai

Jean Sibelius – Symphony no. 2

Jess Hoskins, conductor

Rothko Collective

Goldfinch Chamber Orchestra

Rothko Collective and Goldfinch Chamber Orchestra join forces to bring you a selection of contemporary orchestral and chamber music, before a performance of Sibelius’ 2nd Symphony. The programme has been curated around excerpts from Pauline Oliveros’ ‘Sonic Meditations’, and inspired by her concept of Deep Listening. The works in the first half are all linked to this concept, using improvisation, indeterminacy and silence in creative and democratic ways. Goldfinch Chamber Orchestra is directed by Jess Hoskins, who brings together players from London’s conservatoires and universities to perform exciting and innovative programmes. Rothko is a youth led contemporary music collective, founded by Dominic Stokes.

Step-free access to the venue is available via the vestry garden. Please ask a steward for assistance.

Add to Calendar share