Performance Space, City, University of London
View on map
FREE: please reserve a place, capacity is limited.
Uploaded by
Concerts at City, University of London

Ian Pace: Charles Ives – Concord Sonata

Ian Pace performs Charles Ives’ Piano Sonata No.2, arguably Ives’ masterpiece, and a key work in the 20th century piano literature, with its pioneering use of quotation, atonal harmonies, and references to American transcendentalists.

The programme also includes tributes to the remarkable music of Luc Brewaeys, who died in 2015, rarely heard pieces by Stefan Wolpe, Arthur Lourié and City PhD composer Soosan Lolavar, whose opera ID, Please recently met with critical acclaim.


Stefan Wolpe – Passacaglia (1936, rev. 1972)
Arthur Lourié – Forms en l’air (1915)
Soosan Lolavar – Black Dog (2012)
Marc Yeats – william mumler’s spirit photography (2016) World premiere
Lauren Redhead – for Luc Brewaeys (2016) UK premiere
Luc Brewaeys – “Nobody is Perfect!” (Michael Finnissy Fifty) (1996)
Luc Brewaeys, completed Michael Finnissy – The Dale of Tranquillity (2005) World premiere
Charles Ives – Piano Sonata No. 2, “Concord, Mass.” (1916-19, rev. in 1920s-40s)

Part of the City Summer Sounds festival 2017:

0 interested I'm interested share