+ Add to calendar
Kings Place
View on map
£18.50 + £3 Booking fee
All ages
Uploaded by

L’Arsenale Ensemble: Nosferatu — A Symphony of Horror

The brilliant L’Arsenale Ensemble (from Treviso, Italy) present a silent film score for Nosferatu: A Symphony of Horror by F.W. Murnau from composer and instrumental inventor Filippo Perocco.

This film, from 1922, has been long noted for its themes of fear of ’the other’ and of the invasions real and imagined which it portrays. Perocco’s music never shies away from these themes as it uses an array of electronics, prepared piano, voice, and mixed ensemble to lean into the disquiet and ask us how we plan to move forward, together.

As part of their ReNEW residency at Kings Place, Riot Ensemble curates a day-long festival which asks questions about how the past two years have impacted, expanded and collapsed relationships between human beings. Stretching from Riot’s 2020 Call for Scores winner Alec Hall’s deep-dive into the cult-fitness world of Peloton (Spin) toward lingering (or are they fast approaching?) questions of immigration, togetherness and ’the other’ in a silent film score to Nosferatu. Emphasising their commitment to a truly international vision of new music, Riot has invited two ensembles – Italy’s L’Arsenale and the USA’s Hub New Music - to make their UK debuts.

Add to Calendar share