+ Add to calendar
Firth Hall (Firth Court), Western Bank, Sheffield S10 2TN
View on map
Pay What You Think
All ages
Uploaded by

Ligeti Quartet: Shared Consciousness

What does the brain sound like?

Neuroscientist and composer Cliff Kerr explores what happens when performers become composers by translating their brain activity in real time into musical scores.

Leveraging recent advances in non-invasive EEG hardware and time series analysis methods information is extracted from the brain.

This world premiere is surrounded by pieces which make use of some of the same elements.

The shared consciousness represented in Lutosławski’s masterminding of the aleatoric process; Ruth Crawford Seeger’s trailblazing use of textures in her highly original 1931 string quartet where the whole is greater than the sum of individual parts; and Feshareki’s slowly cumulative exploration of open strings and harmonics.

Ruth Crawford Seeger – String Quartet (1931)
Cliff Kerr – Brainstaves (2019)
Witold Lutosławski – String Quartet (1964)
Shiva Feshareki – Venus/Zohreh (2018)

The Ligeti Quartet are:

Mandhira de Saram (violin 1)
Patrick Dawkins (violin 2)
Richard Jones (viola)
Val Welbanks (cello)

At ​the ​forefront ​of ​modern ​and ​contemporary ​music since ​their ​formation ​in ​2010, the ​Ligeti ​Quartet ​has established ​a ​reputation ​as ​one ​of ​the ​UK’s leading ​ensembles, ​breaking ​new ​ground ​through ​innovative ​programming ​and championing ​of ​today’s ​most ​exciting ​composers ​and ​artists.

This is a PAY WHAT YOU THINK concert – pre-book a free ticket and then ‘pay what you think’ once the concert is finished. Payments can be made by cash or text message. Front of House staff will be around to help with any questions.

Add to Calendar share