+ Add to calendar
Barbican Hall
View on map
Tickets: £57 £42 £32 £22 £16
Uploaded by
London Symphony Orchestra

London Symphony Orchestra: Elizabeth Ogonek & James Hoyle world premiere

Elim Chan (first female winner of the LSO Donatella Flick Conducting Competition in 2014) leads us from winter to spring, from the cold into sunlight, from the 20th century to the present day, opening this concert with the world premiere of a new work, Thymiaterion, by LSO Panufnik Composer Scheme alumni, James Hoyle.

Elizabeth Ogonek’s All these lighted things opens the second half. Organised into three dances, it is, in the composer’s own words, in turns bright, metallic, sparse and ecstatic. Imagining the shedding of darkness by the music of dawn, All these lighted things expresses ‘a sense of overwhelming happiness’ as the orchestra merges into one ‘community’ of joy.

Rachmaninov’s ferociously challenging and virtuosic Piano Concerto No 3, with soloist Lukáš Vondráček, and Ravel’s vibrant Suite No 2 from Daphnis and Chloe complete the programme.

JAMES HOYLE Thymiaterion (world premiere) *
RACHMANINOV Piano Concerto No 3
ELIZABETH OGONEK All These Lighted Things – three little dances for orchestra
RAVEL Daphnis and Chloe – Suite No 2

* Commissioned through the Panufnik Composers Scheme, generously supported by Lady Hamlyn and The Helen Hamlyn Trust

Elim Chan conductor
Lukáš Vondráček piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Add to Calendar share