+ Add to calendar
St Georges Bristol
View on map
Uploaded by
The Sampler

Madeleine Mitchell and Geoffrey Poole

Presented by Severnside Composers Alliance


Madeleine Mitchell violin Geoffrey Poole piano

Olivier Messiaen Theme & Variations (1932) Steven Kings Prelude, Cumulation, Trio Michael NymanTaking it as Read (2007)Jolyon LaycockThe Persistence of Memory (world premiere)


Sulyen CaradonDorian Dirge

Ludwig van Beethoven Violin Sonata no.10 in G op 96 (1812)

Last year the celebrated international violinist Madeleine Mitchell agreed to perform works written for her by Severnside composers. So many outstanding compositions were received, representing such a rich and fascinating range of musical styles, that she and Geoffrey Poole agreed to give two programmes. Following their memorable first visit in April they return playing works by Steven Kings and Michael Nyman, and the world premiere of Jolyon Laycock’s new violin sonata inspired by a Salvador Dali painting. Nyman’s “Taking it as Read” was written for Madeleine’s Red Violin festival and has not been performed in England before. Combined with Beethoven’s sublime G major classic, this programme promises to be just as inspirational as their first.

Add to Calendar share