+ Add to calendar
Barbican Hall
View on map
Uploaded by
The Sampler

Péter Eötvös “The gilding of the Eagle in the Skies” (UK premiere), BBC Symphony Orchestra

JanacekJealousy | SmetanaVltava | SmetanaSarka | SzymanowskiViolin Concerto No. 2 in D major | Péter Eötvös The gilding of the Eagle in the Skies (UK premiere) | Janacek Taras Bulba

BBC Symphony Orchestra | Edward Gardner conductor | Tasmin Little  violin

Tonight’s programme evokes the soundworld of Central Europe with works by Janáček, Smetana, Szymanowski and a UK premiere by Peter Eötvös, all conducted by Edward Gardner.

The centerpiece of the concert is Polish composer Szymanowski’s joyous Second Violin Concerto with the charismatic Tasmin Little as the soloist. Janáček’s powerful Jealousy and Taras Bulba suite frame two of Smetana’s most popular tone-poems and the first UK performance of composer Peter Eötvös’s 2012 work, inspired by the stillness of an eagle in flight.

Journey Through Music: Bring your family along to this fun interactive workshop and receive concert tickets for just £5 (plus booking fee).

Add to Calendar share